Ohio Law Banning Texting While Driving Goes into Full Effect March 1st; Warning Period is Over

Following a six month grace period, an Ohio law banning texting while driving goes into full effect on March 1st (that's tomorrow). House Bill 99, which was signed by Gov. John Kasich last year, makes texting while driving illegal for motorists of all ages on a secondary enforcement basis.

In Cleveland and Beachwood, texting is banned on a primary basis, meaning cops don't have to pull you over for another reason to bust you for texting.

The law also makes it illegal for drivers under age 18 to use an electronic wireless communications device in any manner. That means under 18s can get ticketed for texting while driving, or talking on a cell phone while driving.

Those who violate the law will be subject to a fine of no more than $150. Teens may also be subject to having their license suspended for 60 days for a first offense.

Ohio became the 39th state to ban texting while driving.

Latest News: